Undergraduate Prizes

The Princeton Prize in Race Relations Senior Thesis Prize

The Princeton Prize in Race Relations Senior Thesis Prize, endowed by the Princeton University Class of 1966, is awarded annually to a member of the senior class, irrespective of academic concentration, whose senior thesis adds significantly to our understanding of issues of race and race relations in the United States, broadly defined. While a prize-winning thesis may rely on conventional research methodologies (in libraries and archives, using the research methodologies of the humanities and the social sciences), the Program in American Studies will look with favor on theses that also manage to draw this scholarship into practical and experiential engagement.

2019 Winner:

Natalya Linglingay Rañeses Ritter, Department of Politics:
“‘Stuck in the Middle with You’: The Role of Law in the Racial and Political Classification of Filipinos in America”

The Willard Thorp Thesis Prize

A prize awarded to the senior in the American studies program who prepared the most outstanding thesis of a clearly interdisciplinary nature. The prize honors Professor of English Willard Thorp, a founder of the program and for many years its director.

2019 Winner:

Sarah Spergel, Department of History:
“Spilling the Tea: an Exploration of Tea Pads in 1930s Harlem”

The Asher Hinds Prize

This prize was established in memory of Asher Hinds, professor of English and one of the leaders of the Special Program in the Humanities, which later became the programs in American studies and European cultural studies. Hinds was remembered with particular affection by his students and colleagues, who established this prize. It is awarded to the student who does the most outstanding work in the humanities.

2019 Winner:

Katherine E. Duggan, Department of English:
“Ghost Melodramas and the Staging of American History”

The Grace May Tilton Prize in Fine Arts

The prize is awarded for an outstanding thesis by a senior in any of the twelve departments collaborating in the American studies program. The thesis must deal wholly or principally with some aspect of the fine arts or crafts, past or present, within the territory now embraced by the United States, or elsewhere in the Americas. The prize is a gift of Robert Schirmer ’21 in memory of his mother.

2019 Winner:

Alicia Brooke Hammarskjold, Department of Art and Archeology:
“Landscape painting, Urbanization, and the California Imaginary”

David F. Bowers Prize

A prize awarded to the student in the American studies program who does the best work in program seminars. Established in 1951 in memory of Professor of Philosophy David F. Bowers, one of the faculty group that drew up the plan for the American studies program, the prize was endowed in 1955 by Willard and Margaret Thorp.

2019 Winner:

Alis Yoo, Department of History